top of page
Request blogs:

If you have something you are dying to hear about, feel free to send a request to any of the social media pages or the question box in the 'About me' section! -B

Like what you read? Share Big Blonde B:

3 things college has taught me about relationships and the World Wide Web


In the three short years that have flown by since I graduated from my small town high school and transitioned into the fake-adulthood called college, a lot has changed, not just with me, but with the world around me--Tinder was invented, Snapchat blew up, and with that, so did infidelity.

As a result, I compiled a list of 3 things I have learned (so far).

1. Finding someone to be FBO with isn't everything.

Admittedly, as a little freshie experiencing the great big world of college for the first time, the thing I was looking forward to most was finally finding someone who I could become "facebook official" with.

It took me awhile, but I realized there had to be more to college than crying over a guy who was mean to me and constantly searching for a new one to make me feel better.

So, to all of the current/future college freshman reading this: take a step back and try to become the person you're supposed to be--don't focus on the temporary high you get from posting about a cute boy on Instagram.

2. Social media is a blessing...and a curse.

Throughout my experience, I have learned that social media has the power to be a devil and an angel when it comes to dating, I for one, have experienced it as both.

Tinder has introduced me to some pretty cool guys, but also some pretty shitty ones. Snapchat has helped me stay in touch with flings and it has also made me completely crazy. I have seen relationships end because of a Facebook message and I have seen relationships begin because of a follow on Twitter--it is all complicated (as if dating isn't complicated enough)

Point being: be aware of all of these outlets in college and use them to your advantage, don't abuse them (something I am still learning).

3. The best relationships made in college aren't romantic

Looking back at my freshman year and my priorities, I would never have thought my friendships could get stronger or that I would make new friends that would end up being my second family.

College is amazing because you are surrounded by people that are going through almost the exact same things you are going through. I learned to take advantage of this and use it to strengthen those relationships.

I would much rather post a "Woman Crush Wednesday" of my best friends than a "Man Crush Monday" anyday.


bottom of page